UFO – Painterly Flower

(BAC entry) Mary Harned - Flower in BloomAs the Mid-Atlantic quilt festival nears, I thought that it was about time to finish my project for last years workshop.    In 2015, I took a class with Barbara Olsen titled Painterly Flowers.   It was a machine appliqué class and was focused on using fabric like a paint brush.

In this piece, the flower is the “star” and the background is just there to ground it.   With that in mind, I did more detailed quilting on the flower and simple straight line quilting on the background.   I basically played with a variety of quilting designs on the petals.

You might also notice that there is no binding.    I decided to try doing a facing technique instead of binding and I really like the effect.   I kinda think that it looks a little more like and “art piece”.   I found a tutorial on facing quilts on Terry Aske Art Quilt Studio website.   Worked great!

Happy Stitchin’

Mary

8 thoughts on “UFO – Painterly Flower

  1. I love thus quilt – the position of the flower, the colors, the quilting – all great! I’m glad to hear that my facings instructions worked for you. (I refer to them myself every time I face a quilt!)

Leave a comment