Free motion angelfish quilt block

image               Another addition to the my Sea Life collage quilt – an angelfish.  I saw an article in Art Quilting Studio magazine of a fun technique using a simple applique (heart) and free motion quilting.  I decided to try this technique with an angelfish.  I looked for pictures of angelfish on one of those free coloring pages websites.  I printed the picture then traced the angelfish using tracing paper.  I pinned the traced fish design to my quilt block sandwich (with batting and backing).  I used black thread to free motion quilt around the outline of the fish design.  Pulled the tracing paper off and then stitched a couple of more times around the fish.  Then I got out my colored pencils and started coloring the fish – lots of fun.  I am going to try this technique again.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

One thought on “Free motion angelfish quilt block

Leave a Reply

