Chinese Coins pattern: Quilt of Valor

A couple of years ago I cut up my red, white, and blue scraps into 6″ long rectangles with different widths.  I started putting together strips to make a Quilt of Valor using the Chinese Coins pattern.   Fast forward 2 years or so and the quilt is now done.  Did I make a dent in my scrap pile of rectangles? Not really – still looks like a big pile of scraps to me.  So I have started on another Quilt of Valor.

I used a couple of quilting rulers for free motion quilting. I used a straight edge ruler to make a series of 3 lines.  Then I used an arch ruler to make 3 rows of arches next to the straight lines. Then I repeated this pattern to finish the quilting.  I used a ruler foot for my sewing machine and Gina Perkes’ quilting rulers (“Audrey” ruler for straight lines and “Marilyn” ruler for arches/curves).

Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

2 thoughts on “Chinese Coins pattern: Quilt of Valor

Leave a comment