Upcycled thrift shop napkins with embroidery

I bought these napkins at a thrift store so that I could practice using some embroidery designs.  Since I had my embroidery module attached to my sewing machine after making the watermelon coasters,  I decided to find something else to embroider.  I found some fall leaves embroidery designs from Hatched in Africa (www.hatchedinafrica.com) called Autumn’s Little Things Appliqué.  I put a different colored leaf in each corner.  For a stabilizer, I planned to use AquaMesh since this stabilizer would wash away.  But unfortunately I had some scraps of PolyMesh from my last project (watermelon coasters) on my sewing table and I accidentally used some PolyMesh on the napkins instead of Aquamesh. It is very hard to tell the difference between AquaMesh and PolyMesh. It took me a while to figure out why some of the stabilizer was not washing away with water.  So it took me longer to finish this project because I had to remove the PolyMesh and start over with the AquaMesh.  Lesson learned – pay more attention to what stabilizer I am using.  I added a decorative stitch (#603) on my machine around the edges to add more interest to the napkins.  I put my embroidery module away to work on other sewing projects. My home decor project took longer than I had anticipated but I got it done. Keep having fun sewing and quilting. Donna

One thought on “Upcycled thrift shop napkins with embroidery

Leave a comment