Progress on Fire Island Hosta quilt pattern designed by Judy Niemeyer)

I have started work on the Fire Island Hosta paper piecing quilt pattern that I bought last year.  I can’t believe that I actually bought the pattern but the quilt looks stunning at the quilt show.  Now the challenge is to complete the quilt.  In June, I sorted all the fabric into bags by the sections of the quilt. In July, I completed 2 sections (8 pieces per section).  Once all the cutting of the templates is completed, the sewing is easy since you just sew on the line.  I did follow the tips in the pattern which were helpful.  I set up a small iron and cutting board by my sewing machine so that it is easy to press and trim as you sew along.  My goal is to complete the quilt top by next April.  So I will try to keep working on the quilt each month until the top is finished.  The colors in the quilt will be white, yellow, green, blue-green, and blue. Hopefully the colors will all work together.  I will keep you posted on my progress.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

