“Updated” Animal ABC and Wonky Bird wall hangings

Back in the 1980’s, I made 2 embroidery pieces (one crewel embroidery and the other cross stitch – not counted cross stitch) when my two sons were born.  Originally both pieces were hung in a picture frame that my dad made – no glass.  I took the pieces out of the frames years ago and put the embroidery pieces in one of my UFO boxes.  I have been looking through my UFO boxes and trying to finish projects.  I decided to update these 2 pieces by adding a border and binding so they could be hung on a wall (for future grandkids – “fingers crossed”).   I did have to do some repair work on the crewel piece using a light green yarn on the outline yarn border- still had plenty of leftover yarns from other crewel projects.  For the Wonky Bird piece, I used free motion quilting to finish it.  For the Animal ABC piece, I used a blue thread to match the outline stitch that framed each alphabet square to quilt using a walking foot on the outline stitch so you couldn’t see where I quilted.  I used free motion quilting for the border.  I think that these projects look super cute now – just waiting to hang in a baby’s room.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

2 thoughts on ““Updated” Animal ABC and Wonky Bird wall hangings

Leave a Reply

