Using water soluble stabilizer to make “scarf” piece

Practice piece

I wanted to add a yarn and thread piece to my Jane Sassaman project.  I have been wanting to try using water soluble stabilizer to put together threads and yarns to make a” see through” piece.  So I looked in one of my drawers and found Super Solvy by Sulky.  I am sure you can also use Solvy Water Soluble Stabilizer but I had a small package of Super Solvy that I got on clearance somewhere so I used that.  I looked on the internet for information on ” making a scarf with water soluble stabilizer” and found lots of tutorials and information for this project.  It was super easy to do.

Before free motion stitching

Use 2 pieces of stabilizer and lay your yarns, threads (I used some thick metallic threads to give it some sparkle), etc. on one piece of stabilizer.  Move your stuff around to get the effect that you want.  Then cover your piece with another piece of stabilizer.  Using a pressing sheet or parchment paper, iron lightly your piece to hold everything together.

Finished piece

Next, use free motion quilting to sew a grid in two directions and then free motion stippling to make sure everything will hold together once the stabilizer is gone.   Place your piece in cold water for about 15 minutes and then put it on a towel to dry.  Since I used Super Solvy which is extra sticky, I had to rinse it a second time after it dried on the towel because it was still sticky.  Super fun and easy.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

3 thoughts on “Using water soluble stabilizer to make “scarf” piece

Leave a Reply

