Polaroid quilt using Kona solid fabric scraps

I looked on pinterest for inspiration for a quilt with polaroid squares (I had about 160 polaroid squares to play with).  I liked the wonky blocks and the multi-color blocks.  So I found my bag of fabric scraps of Kona solids leftover from the class on the Gravity quilt pattern at the shop I worked at.  I cut 1.5″ and 2.5″ wide strips of assorted colors.  I sewed the 1.5″ strips on the top and bottom of each polaroid and the 2.5″ wide strips on the sides.  Then I made a 5″ square template which I placed at an angle of the block to cut the wonky blocks.  I positioned some blocks angled to the top left corner and some to the top right corner.  I made 80 wonky blocks.  Next I stitched 4 blocks together to make a 4 patch for a total of 20 blocks.  My plan was to use the 20 blocks to make a 4 x 5 block quilt but the quilt was getting too big for a charity baby quilt so I only used 16 four patches.  I put a 1.5″ sashing between the rows and 2.5″ border around all the rows.  The finished size is about 44″ square.  I have not quilted the top yet.  I really like all the colors in the quilt – very happy.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

 

2 thoughts on “Polaroid quilt using Kona solid fabric scraps

Leave a Reply

