Hawaiian appliqué block completed and deconstructed

After washing

I decided to use Mary’s Hawaiian appliqué UFO block for my Jane Sassaman quilt project.  But first I had to complete the block and quilt it.  Mary had started to “needle turn hand applique” the block so I had to take out her stitches – Mary helped take out the stitching.  She had done very small stitches to hide her stitching on the block.  Next I used a blind hem stitch on my machine and stitched down the appliqué with green thread.  I drew a design on the appliqué and used free motion quilting to stitch out the design.  I used echo quilting around the appliqué to complete the block.  Next I cut the block in half and then cut out 3 circles from one half.  With the other half I cut a curved line on one side.  The quilt project is pinned to my design wall to get ready for the next step.  I keep moving the leaves around so I do not have a final design yet – still a work in progress.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

