Jane Sassaman project – part 2

I used the techniques in Jane Sassaman’s book – The Quilted Garden – to make the leaves.  Looking at my photos of Hawaiian leaves, I drew a variety of leaves on tracing paper to make my patterns.  I made the leaves in 3 different sizes.   I attached iron-on interfacing (“Shirtailor” by Pellon) to the wrong side of the fabrics.  Then I traced the leave shapes and cut out my patterns.  I used a basting stitch to attach the leaf sections together.  I plan to use a satin stitch over my basting stitch.  I decided to add black and white fabric accents to the wall hanging so I used different black and white fabrics for accents on some of the leaves.  I made a small quilt square (about 8 – 9″ square) with a black and white “bird of paradise” flower (fusible appliqué) to also add to the wall hanging – not sure where I will put it in the quilt yet.  I still need to quilt the bird of paradise quilt square yet.  Now I have all the parts made.  Next I have to deconstruct the green Hawaiian appliqué quilt square so that I will know the dimensions for the main section of the wall hanging.  I will also need to pick out background fabrics to place the leaves on.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “Jane Sassaman project – part 2

Leave a Reply

