Project inspired by the work of Jane Sassaman – part 1

Unwashed quilt square

Our art group has started working on wall hangings based on the work of  Jane Sassaman – Abstracting from Nature.  We each chose a flower as our inspiration for the project.  Originally I chose the passion flower because it looked really cool in the flower book.  But I wasn’t really committed to the passion flower so I changed directions.  I like to do quilts related to places where I have traveled.  So I looked at my photos of Hawaiian flowers and leaves.  I decided to make different Hawaiian leaves and then add my Hawaiian appliqué quilt square to the piece.  I had a blue appliqué square and Mary had a green appliqué square – both were in our UFO boxes.  I decided to turn my blue Hawaiian appliqué into a pillow which I posted earlier in May.  So I took Mary’s UFO Hawaiian appliqué block to use. But first I had to finish it – I did not want to finish the appliqué by hand so I took out the stitching that Mary had already completed.  Then I used a blind hem stitch to attach the appliqué to the white background.  I drew a design on the appliqué which I free motion quilted with green thread.  I used echo quilting around the motif using white thread.

After washing

I decided to wash the quilt square before I de-constructed the square  and added it to my piece.  More on that process later.  I am getting excited about my piece. Not sure what the finished project will look like.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting. Donna

2 thoughts on “Project inspired by the work of Jane Sassaman – part 1

Leave a Reply

