Colors of Nepal wall hanging

I made a narrow wall hanging using poppy flower embroidery designs and fabric from Nepal that my daughter in law brought back from Nepal.  I always think of the color “red” when I think of Nepal – probably because of the red wedding sari dress that my daughter in law wore for the wedding in Nepal.  I made a collage design using the embroidery flower designs, paper cards with leaves from Nepal, embroidery trims from sari dresses, and woven fabric from Nepal. It was easy to stitch the paper cards on to the quilt batting and backing (just used the straight stitch).  I used strips of  fabric from a sari dress and 2 different cotton fabric strips to weave fabric for one of the collage blocks.  It was very easy to weave the fabrics. I stitched embroidery trims from Nepal on the top and bottom of the wall hanging.  I fussy cut some flowers and leaves to stitch on the wall hanging. There was one square left so I added a bird to one side and then I used thread sketching to add more color to the bird.  I quilted in the ditch around all the blocks and then used free motion quilting for the rest of the wall hanging.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

