Hawaiian Applique quilt square finally done!

    Mary and I took a class a few years ago at our local quilt guild on making a Hawaiian appliqué quilt block.  We cut out our designs and basted the designs to white fabric.  The appliqué is needle turned by hand – not my favorite technique but I do like the look of the Hawaiian appliqué blocks.  I completed about 60% of the appliqué in the first year and then put it in my UFO box.  Found the design again when I was cleaning up and organizing the sewing room.  So I finished the needle turned appliqué and then used free motion quilting on my machine to complete the square.  I drew a quilting design on the blue appliqué design with a white marking pen.  The markings really helped me with the free motion quilting.  I used a walking foot to add echo – quilting lines in the white fabric.  I decided to make a pillow for our back porch with the quilt square.  When I decided to make an art quilt with Hawaiian leaves, Mary suggested using a Hawaiian appliqué block in the project.  She has a green Hawaiian appliqué square that I am going to finish quilting and then deconstruct the block for another art quilt project.  It feels good to complete another UFO. Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

One thought on “Hawaiian Applique quilt square finally done!

  1. I love the Hawaiian quilt look, but the thought of doing genuine needle turn applique daunts me every time. I will only proceed if I can figure out how to ‘fake it’!!!!

Leave a Reply

