Sidetracked by a pottery project – Garden Totem

I recently took a Garden Totem pottery class at our local Art Center.   This was my 1st attempt at molding clay.

My clay Fish

Some of my pieces, before I painted them with glaze and the final firing.

 

It was a 5 week class and we created lots of clay pieces that we would eventually stack into a garden totem.

 

 

 

 

 

After we molded/created our individual pieces, they were fired in a kiln and then we painted glazes on them and they were fired again.

 

 

 

Here is the finished project.

Of course I had to put a scottie in my totem.

My crazy bird.

 

I added some copper wiring  and some copper tubing to better space out my pottery pieces.   I really like the way the light catches on the copper.

 

 

Everyone’s totem was unique.

It was a really fun project and it adds a bit of whimsy to our garden.

Happy creating,

Mary

 

3 thoughts on “Sidetracked by a pottery project – Garden Totem

Leave a Reply

