Quilt of Valor with selvage borders

     I am back to my quilting projects.  I took a break to start substitute teaching part time so I haven’t been completing as many projects in the past month.  I started this Quilt of Valor last year when I started making selvage strip blocks and modern Disappearing nine patch squares.  When I started working again on this project, I needed to make more selvage blocks and more nine patch quilt blocks so that the quilt would be large enough (at least 55″ x 65″).  Here is a tutorial of a modern Disappearing nine patch quilt block using different layouts of the nine patch squares before cutting them: http://www.stlouisfolkvictorian.com/2012/07/modernized-d9p.html     I made the selvage strip blocks by sewing selvage strips (red and blue) on to a muslin base.  I put together the Disappearing nine patch blocks for the main section of the quilt.  Then I added the borders.  I used free motion quilting for the center of the quilt and a walking foot for straight line quilting in the borders.  I found a red/ white/ and blue plaid fabric to use for the binding.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.

2 thoughts on “Quilt of Valor with selvage borders

    • Thanks. A couple of friends were saving their fabric selvages for me. When I saw them last month, I had to tell them to stop saving them. It seems that the more projects I use selvages for, my collection of selvages doesn’t shrink. LOL. They do look nice in my sewing room in the color coordinated containers.

Leave a Reply

