Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival

I entered 2 of my quilts in the wall hanging competition.  I was excited that both quilts were accepted.  All About Birds was a collage quilt  which was lots of fun to make the individual blocks and then put them together.  Grandpa’s Garden was an original design with purple flowers on a trellis. I also took 2 classes at the show.  I took a half day class with Bobbie Bergquist using Tsukineko inks.  We played with the inks on small pieces of fabric – marbling using shaving cream, using stencils, and using aloe to paint with the inks.  The instructor gave us a CD with 20 ways to use Tsukineko inks and pens.  I am looking forward to trying some of those other techniques.  I also took a class with Mary using Dye-Na-Flow paints.  Ashley Nichols was a great instructor – very organized and a great hand out.  We didn’t have to use prepared for dye fabrics.  We used an iron to heat set the paint designs.  I look forward to paying with these techniques more in the future.  I really had fun using black thread to do free motion quilting designs.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

