Another landscape quilt using a background fabric

I was watching the Quilt Show (https://thequiltshow.com) recently and saw an episode with Ricky Tims making a quick landscape quilt. image He used a piece of hand dyed fabric for the background and then started adding different landscape elements.  He used a rotary cutter to make fabric “confetti” for the leaves on his landscape which he glued to the background.  I wanted to try out the technique.  So I looked through my fabric stash and found a piece of fabric that was multi-colored and might make a background.  I added strips of brown fabric to cover up some of the purple in the lower half of the quilt background.  I used a glue stick to add the confetti leaves.  Next time I will use pre-fused fabric so that I can iron the leaves down. image It was a challenge to free motion quilt the leaves that were “glued” down – my leaves kept popping off the quilt.  But it was a fun and quick way to make a little landscape piece.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

