Back from Quilt Guild Retreat – part 2

imageOne of the things that we do at retreat is to ask everyone (if they like) to make one 12 1/2″ block and the last night we raffle them on.

We sting them up in the main meeting room and they always look great!

This year we did B&W blocks and got 40 blocks so we had 4 raffle drawing and the winners each got 10 blocks.

No…. neither of us won.   Maybe next year.

image

 

One of the ladies in our group makes beautiful fabric collaged cards and did a little workshop on how to make them.    Here is the one that I made.

retreat-card

 

 

 

 

I don’t like to take projects to retreat that make me concentrate.  Too many people to visit with.  So I brought a charity quilt project.   A lasagna quilt.   You’ve all seen them.   Here it is (before I cut it up.lasanga1

 

lasanga1b

Donna’s layout

Now, if I had left it that way and added borders, I’d be done.   But I got to thinking about Ricky Tims and how he cuts up things and then puts them back together.   Why not try it with a lasagna quilt?   One of my friend said YES and with that encouragement I cut it up.     First I separated it into two square pieces and then I cut it on the diagonal from corner to corner.   A few of us took the pieces to the design wall and played with it.   Nothing looked good, until Donna walked over and arranged them.   lasanga2

I sewed them back together and now I have 2 quilts (that both need borders).    What do you think?

I don’t think that I’d do it again as it took too much time and I could’ve  finished it if I’d left it as your basic lasagna quilt.  Oh well, it was fun experiementing.   Ya don’t know until you try something new.

 

Another project was to do a paper pieced block for our guild’s 2018 raffles quilt.   This was my contribution to the quilt.image

retreat-big-block

The “Big Block” 36″ x 36″

 

 

Lastly, worked on a Big block for my southwest Modern Sampler quilt.

It’s a 36″ x 36″ block.   I’ll do a separate post on that whole quilt.  Here is just one Big block from the quilt.   It combines lots of different block sizes and this is the biggest one in the quilt.

Happy Stitchin’

Mary

 

 

Leave a Reply

