Back from our quilt guild’s retreat – part 1

Mary and I went to our quilt guild’s annual retreat last week (3 night retreat along the NC coast) with 40 quilters.  We had great weather considering that it is February.  I worked on some projects that I had started at our quilting retreat in January. image I finished quilting and binding a baby charity quilt and the mittens (Herky Jerky) wall hanging. imageimage I continued working on making squares using selvages in red and blue for a border on a Quilt of Valor. image Here is a website with 25 sewing projects using selvages: http://thesewingloftblog.com/25-things-to-make-with-fabric-selvage/. image I also continued working on a modern Disappearing 9 patch using patriotic fabrics – the selvage squares will be the border to this quilt.  Mary and I also made  paper piecing log cabin blocks for the next year’s raffle quilt. Here is my block. image Several members of a quilt bee bought paper piecing patterns and batik scraps for retreat members to make some blocks.  About 20 blocks were made during retreat.  There was a demo on making a fabric collage greeting card.image  I made a card with a beach scene but I still need to add stitching and embellishments to the card.  We played games on two nights.  One game was called ” Right, Left, Center”  I won one of the games and the prize was 33 assorted 10″ squares.  imageIt was fun to play the games but also fun to win the fabric too – especially a bird print that I really liked. Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

3 thoughts on “Back from our quilt guild’s retreat – part 1

  1. Looks like you got a lot done. Everything looks very pretty. In a week I am going to my annual retreat. I hope I can get as much done. Looking at all your project I feel very motivated. Thank you. Looks like today may be cold in your area. Stay warm.

Leave a Reply

