May Calendar wall quilt (pattern by Kim Schaefer)

imageDuring the grey days of winter, it is fun to work on a project with bright spring flowers.   I worked on this project during the quilt retreat last week.  Another UFO finished.  I made a few changes and added embellishments to this wall hanging. The top picture shows the quilt top after working at the retreat.  I did use a single piece of yellow polka dot fabric for the background.  I did not add the green appliqué squares on the border.  I free motion quilted a flower design on the background before adding the appliqué pieces.  When I got home from the retreat, I looked at the flowers. image I did not like the flower with the huge center so I took off the center.  I added another layer of petals and a smaller center.   I like that flower now.  I also added a larger orange center to the large purple flower. image I used thread scraps and black tulle to embellish the center of the pink flower.  For the orange flower, I free motion quilted a pebble design with gold thread.  I wanted to use buttons for the center of the purple flowers. imageSo I took a couple of pictures to decide what buttons I wanted to use before sewing the buttons on.  I didn’t like these first 2 designs.  I saw a picture in a Quilting Arts magazine that showed a quilt that used lots of different size buttons to fill in an area on the quilt.  So I tried this design.  imageI liked it.  Next – how to sew on the buttons without using the design that I liked.  A glue stick didn’t work so I used a hot glue gun (no sewing involved).  Then I used a piece of light purple tulle to cover the buttons – I used a zipper foot and straight stitch to stitch on the tulle and then trim close to the stitching line.  imageIt was fun playing with different embellishments. I added white tulle to the bee’s wings.  I used a Micron 05 black marker to add spots to the butterfly.image Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

One thought on “May Calendar wall quilt (pattern by Kim Schaefer)

Leave a Reply

