“Buoys from Cape Cod” wall hanging

image      I have been trying to complete a quilted piece using a photograph of buoys from a trip to Cape Cod in 2012.  I tried making this piece with the photo printed on fabric at a thread painting workshop in Santa Fe (see post dated 5/13/2014).  I did not like the technique which used a piece of heavy weight canvas with batting.  The piece didn’t lay flat with all the thread painting.  So I discarded that piece.  Last fall I took a class in acrylic painting class at a local art center.  I am almost done with my painting of the buoys – still have to finish the fencing.  (see post dated 10/7/2016).

Last year I started a fabric wall hanging using the photo of the buoys.  I enlarged the photo and then made a freezer paper pattern of the pieces on the photo.  imageI used fusible web to attach the fabric pieces to a background piece (Pellon #910 stabilizer).  I used the triple stitch to make the background wire fencing. image I used lots of different colors of thread and variegated threads to thread paint the piece.  For additional shading, I used pastel dye sticks and colored pencils (Prismacolor).  I used a hot iron on the areas where I used the colored pencils and dye sticks.

Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

One thought on ““Buoys from Cape Cod” wall hanging

Leave a Reply

