Paper Piecing Dresden Plate wall hanging

imageI took a craftsy class on paper piecing using a Quiltwork pattern.  I wanted to learn some of  Judy Niemeyer’s  paper piecing tips and techniques before starting a larger project.  I have a bed quilt pattern – Fire Island Hosta – that I want to start later this year.  I have the fabric ready for the project.  imageThe Dresden Plate pattern made an 18″ x 18″ square.  It was a good class on Craftsy with lots of tips (using fabric glue, chain piecing, marking both sides of pattern pieces) plus some new paper piecing techniques.  I used pins with numbers to help keep track of the pattern pieces.  imageI used a walking foot to quilt the square.  I used variegated thread for the quilting on the white background. The class also gives directions to make a wall hanging.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

3 thoughts on “Paper Piecing Dresden Plate wall hanging

  1. I love this! It turned out beautiful! I have always wanted to try a Judy Neimeyer paper-pieced projects….might have to add it to my very growing list! Sarah 🙂

Leave a Reply

