Gingerbread wall hanging

gingerbread-house-original

While we were decorating for the holidays, we decided that we needed a small wall hanging to go above our buffet.   We have gingerbread decorations on the buffet so it made sense that we needed a gingerbread house wall hanging.

While I going through our holiday fabric tub, I found this panel (who knows when we bought it).

Unfortunately I thought it was a bit too busy and I wasn’t really fond of the dark border.

 

gingerbread-house-newSo…. I decided to fuse the whole thing and then cut out the parts that I wanted.

I created a new background and fused the gingerbread house and trees to my new (less busy background) and added a new border.

gingerbread-housecu-of-scottieI used some shine (tinsel like) thread to add a bit of bling/shimmer with the light hits it.

I also added  a little scottie (everything is better with a little scottie).   For the scottie, I fussy cut it  from some other scottie fabric and then I also fussy cut the scottie sweater from another piece of fabric.   I then fused them together onto the snow.

I used scraps of wool batting from another project and as a result it came out real puffy when I quilted it.   I don’t think I’d do that again.   I much prefer the cotton batting.   The puffy batting kinda works for the gingerbread house, but I don’t really care for it in the sky.

It was a fun little holiday decor piece to work on and it now hangs over our dining room buffet and finishes off the gingerbread holiday decor there.

Happy Stitch’n and Happy Holiday,

Mary

2 thoughts on “Gingerbread wall hanging

Leave a Reply

