Merry Christmas from Santa

image     When we were looking through our box of Christmas fabric, Mary found this pattern.  I decided to make the Santa since we had an empty space on the wall next to the front door.  I did make a few modifications to the pattern.  The pattern called for 1 & 7/8″ squares to construct the Santa.  I don’t like working with small fractions so I cut 2″ squares for the wall hanging. I wanted to use brighter colors for the Santa, so I used white and tan for the trim on the hat by his face.  imageI used fabric pastels to color his cheeks.  I used only 2 buttons on each boot.  I used white poly fil for the beard and top of the hat.  I made a felt circle for the top of the hat and then added the poly fil.  Love my hot glue gun.  Instead of button eyes, I glued on eyes. image I also found a pair of eyeglasses at the dollar store to use for Santa’s glasses.  Friends at my cyberbee quilting group suggested that I make 2 buttonholes on the face to use to attach the eyeglasses to the face. Worked great.  Santa is now hanging next to the front door by our Christmas tree.  It was a fun project.  Santa is about 39″ tall.  Enjoy the holidays with your family and friends.  Donna

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas from Santa

Leave a Reply

