“Honu” Sea Turtle & Wave pattern by Sylvia Pippen Designs

image  I bought this pattern at a quilt shop in Maui, Hawaii while on vacation in April 2013.  I really liked the sample of this pattern hanging in the shop.  I even bought Sashiko needles and thread to complete the project.  Fast forward a couple of years, I decided to finish this project using my sewing machine instead of the Sashiko hand stitching. I quilted the background using a grid design like in many Sashiko quilts.  I used white thread to outline the waves and add the waves on the dark blue fabric. image I added some free motion stitching to the background circle by echoing the waves.  I also changed the shape of the quilt to a square (about 18″ square).  Another UFO project is completed. Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

