“Wave” quilt block for my Sealife collage quilt

imageI have been looking through my boxes in the my sewing room to find some UFO projects to work on.  I took a class (Life’s a Beach) in 2015 at Mid-Atlantic quilt festival from Linda Schmidt.  We used lots of fun surface treatment and unusual fabrics to create 2 quilt squares – a beach and a crashing wave.  I finished the beach quilt square last year.  The crashing wave quilt was just waiting to be quilted.  The wave was painted and then I pinned lots of different fabrics to make a 3-D wave crashing.  I can’t remember all the different fabrics used – we shared our stash in the class.  The water was easier to quilt – free motion quilting- for the curves in the wave.  I switched to my walking foot with silver thread for the crashing wave part. Definitely more challenging to stitch over the layers of fabric.  I tried to glue some of the fabric in place but that didn’t work so I went back to the pins.  Now the wave block is ready to go in my Sealife collage quilt once I come up with the final layout.  Keep you posted. Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

2 thoughts on ““Wave” quilt block for my Sealife collage quilt

Leave a Reply

