“Quilt as you Go” calendar squares – UFO

I still had 6 calendar quilted squares from a previous challenge at our Modern Quilting guild that needed to be put into a quilt.  I had already put the 3 summer calendar blocks in a small wall hanging imagewith two Row by Row patterns.  And I also put the 3 fall calendar blocks in a small wall hanging with two Row by Row patterns.  imageNow it was time to do something with the winter and spring calendar blocks. I also used Quilt As You Go technique to put these wall hangings together.

So I took the 3 winter calendar blocks and put them together using Quilt As You Go technique (Leah Day’s you tube video).  I did make a change to the fabric strip for the back the quilt squares.  Leah uses 1.5″ strips but I like to have a little wider strip on the back so I use 1.75″ strip on the back when attaching the quilted calendar blocks.  image imageAfter putting the winter and spring calendar blocks together, I used yarn to make a binding.  I used 3 strands of yarn on the back and 3 strands of yarn on the front using a herringbone stitch.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Another UFO project done. Donna

Leave a Reply

