Another folded star potholder

imageLast month I made 2 folded star potholders – square shape.  I made those potholders larger so that I could use them as a trivet.  I wanted to try making the same pattern using a circle design and bias strip binding.  I used the same technique to make star shapes on the potholder.  It is important to have enough contrast between your 4 colors so that you can see the star design. Then I made a card stock template of a circle (about 7.5″ diameter).  I trace the shape on the potholder and then sewed on that line.  imageNext I put together the layers to quilt (backing, insul-brite, and star design).  I quilted through the star points and then trimmed the circle.  I made bias binding – 2″ wide strips.  After stitching the binding on one side, I hand-stitched the binding to the back of the potholder.  This is a great pattern for using fabric scraps from your stash.   Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

