Happy Villages – Mary’s village

Donna and I both took a class from Karen Eckmeier on making her “Happy Villages” wall hanging.   You saw Donna’s adorable village in her August 23 post.

I saw an example of one of Karen’s village that was done in all red/white/black fabrics.    Well, my favorite color is turquoise so I decided that I’d do a turquoise/white/grey/black little village.

Little Village-2In class we all started with the same shapes and covered our batting with them.   Then roofs and steps were added.

Doesn’t look like much but then I added doors and windows.   It was starting to take shape but I felt like it really needed another pop of color so I decided to add some lime green.

Little Village-4

 

 

Black tulle was used to cover the village and then I free motion quilted it with black thread (trying to give it that sketched look).

I trimmed it on point and added some lime green piping and black triangles.   I finished it off with a pop of color on the binding.

Little Village-3

It’s a very different village from Donna’s Italian village, but I think it is kinda sweet.

Finished size is 15″ x 15″ and another UFO is now complete!

Happy Stitchin’,

      Mary

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Villages – Mary’s village

  1. It’s really great to see the piece develop. You are quite right when you said, at the beginning, “It doesn’t look like much.” – you eventually added so much interest and texture to the picture. Very interesting process.

  2. Mary that is Stunning, I agree with Barb you need to send in that picture to the designer that is so different from her other renditions !! Perfect !!

Leave a Reply

