Happy Villages wall hanging

imageI took a class from Karen Eckmeier on making her “Happy Villages” wall hanging.  The finished size is about 16″ x 16″.  The class was 3 hours so I was able to get the building shapes and background pieces placed on the quilt by the end of the class.  Then I put it away for a few months.  I started working on it last weekend – adding windows, doors, steps and roofs.  I also changed some of the building colors.  I used my camera to take pictures during the process so I could check the colors and see if I had enough contrast in the piece.  In the first picture, I used some blue fabric for abuilding but it looked more like water so I swapped out the blue building shape for a different color.  imageI also made lots of changes with the windows: color and number per building.  I also added more trees, windows and a couple of walls to the village and changed the first bridge that I made. There is a layer of tulle over the piece.  I tried light blue, lavender, and black. image The black tulle really helped to pop the colors of the buildings.  To quilt the piece, I used free motion quilting around the outside of each of the pieces – you could have used a walking foot.  I used grey thread for the quilting of the village.  I decided to use grey fabric for the binding to give a softer look to the quilt. It was a challenging quilt to figure out the placement of the shapes in the village and where to put the steps.  Another UFO off my list.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna    image

6 thoughts on “Happy Villages wall hanging

  1. What a fantastic art quilt! The blue fabric is perfect for water, with movement and waves built right in! The picture really comes to life with the added details of windows, trees, steps, and then the quilting gives everything dimension. You must be very happy with the results!

  2. Pingback: Happy Villages – Mary’s village | Quilting Sisters Unravelled

Leave a Reply

