Alaskan Cruise UFO completed

image       Mary and I went on an Alaskan quilting cruise about 5 years ago with Stitchin Heaven quilt shop travel.  It was a great cruise and well organized.  There were 3 quilting classes during the cruise.  I did finish 2 of the projects.  The third project was a mystery quilt.  I completed most of the blocks but didn’t really like the fabric colors so did not complete that quilt.  While on the cruise, we stop at beautiful quilt shops.  Most of the quilt shops were small but there were many finished quilts on display for inspiration.  While in Skagway, we stopped at Rushin’ Taylor’s Quilt Shop.  I bought a pattern and kit to make a table runner with lupine flower appliqué.  Last week I was looking through my UFO project box and found this pattern.  The pattern also included directions to make placemats and napkins.  So I decided to make the placemats and napkins instead of the table runner.  I had also found a matching lupine flower fabric in my stash that I could use for the napkins.  imageI used the fabric and the pattern from the kit to make one side of the placemat (the side with the flower fabric) and then I designed a modern look for the other side of the placemat. image I did straight line quilting using my walking foot.   I do like to make placemats reversible so I can use both sides.  I am very excited to cross off a UFO project that I have wanted to finish for the past couple of years.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

2 thoughts on “Alaskan Cruise UFO completed

  1. I stopped in a cross stitch store in Skagway in 1988 and bought a bunch of Alaskan patterns. I did the same thing on two trips to Hawaii. All of the patterns were finished and they are a great remembrance of three wonderful trips. My husband was not thrilled with my choice of stores to visit.

Leave a Reply

