Modern Pillows

The “heat dome” has been sitting over us and is is way TOO HOT to go outside.   What to do?   QUILT!

I recently replaced my bed frame with a new (and more modern) upholstery headboard and surround.   I do love it but felt that I needed a couple of accent pillows to complete the look.

I got on Pinterest and found a modern pillow (http://justanotherhangup.blogspot.com/2011/03/new-pillow-design.html) to use as inspiration for my pillows.   Gotta love Pinterest!

IMG_0062

My new accent pillows.

I love this linen looking fabric and thought that it worked well with my textured headboard.

 

In my mind, modern quilting is all about the negative space and

IMG_0064

Final result.

the quilting, so I had some fun with straight line quilting on the linen looking fabric.     I like sectioning off areas and then I use various width lines in each section.    I think that it has more interest than simple even straight lines.    Uneven widths are also more forgiving and that works for me!

Happy Stitchin’,

                 Mary

2 thoughts on “Modern Pillows

Leave a Reply

