In the Hoop embroidery project

image      I took an embroidery class on making a coaster (spool of thread) all in the hoop.  Kimberbell designs has lots of fun patterns for “in the hoop” projects. The front of the coaster uses “paper pieced”  quilting technique – pretty cool using the embroidery module of my sewing machine.  If you have a larger hoop, you can make a larger spool of thread coaster.  Mine was a coaster size.  It was a 3 hour class.     Mine is the purple spool. I was so excited about making the spool coaster that I made 3 more when I got home.   imageI made Mary  a coaster with teal fabric.   I took me about an hour and half to finish each one – after picking out fabric, thread, and cutting the fabric.  I think that the border looks better with a plain fabric.  This was my first “in the hoop” project.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

2 thoughts on “In the Hoop embroidery project

  1. This is the first time that I tried doing paper piecing in the embroidery hoop. But I do like getting the great points with paper piecing. I have some UFO projects with paper piecing with my sewing machine that I want to get to soon.

Leave a Reply

