Making 3-D flowers and leaves for a quilt

image            I am working on a challenge quilt for my local guild which needs to be completed by the September meeting date.  For the challenge we have to use 9 charm squares from Pepper Cory’s brushstroke fabric and the theme is “favorite color”.  My favorite color is purple.   I wanted to make leaves and flowers that would give a 3- D effect.  I looked at several tutorials and books and found some flowers that I liked but not enough information on how to make them.  So I looked in my sewing room closet and found some felt.  I needed some kind of stabilizer in order to free motion quilt the leaves and flowers.         image So I laid scraps of green fabric on green felt and traced some leaf shapes on the fabric.  Then I free motion quilted with black thread on the green fabric to outline the leaves and veins.  I cut out the leaves close to the stitching lines.  I used some dark pink felt and canvas for the flowers.  The leaves and flowers were fun to make. I am still working on my challenge quilt.  I will keep you posted.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

5 thoughts on “Making 3-D flowers and leaves for a quilt

  1. Fantastic idea! I especially love the leaves. I wish I had seen this sooner, as it would have been helpful (for a challenge I didn’t manage to complete!).

    Can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

Leave a Reply

