Watermelon Bench Pillow

image    I saw this pattern for a watermelon bench pillow by Kimberbell and just had to make it.  I have been eating a lot of watermelon since Saturday. Mary and I went to a farmer’s market in town and bought a small watermelon and other vegetables.  I have been eating watermelon twice a day and there still is lots of watermelon. Should have bought a watermelon when we had our relatives visiting over the 4th of July.  Back to the pillow, this pattern was fun to make and had lots of embellishments: rick rack in different sizes for the vines, yo-yo flowers (the pattern made the flowers a different way but I have fun making yo-yo’s, rushing to make the rim of the large watermelon slice, and buttons. image I used scraps of red fabric to make the fabric.  I used free motion quilting on the pillow top after I attached all the appliqué pieces and stitched around them.  I quilted a little flower motif in the corners. image For the ants, I drew the legs and antennae with a fine tip Sharpie pen and then used 3 strands of floss to stitch over the marker lines.  The pattern directions are clear and easy to follow and include how to make the bench pillow using muslin. image To decide what color buttons to use, I took a picture of orange buttons and white buttons.       image Decided that I liked black buttons best.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

