Heart pillow with Bleeding Heart quilting design

image               I was looking on pinterest one night and found this cute and easy heart pillow.  I used linen fabric for the background of the hearts.  I practiced a new free motion quilting design – bleeding heart design. My mom was born in February and her favorite flower was the bleeding heart.  So this pillow is to honor my mom’s memory.  She loved to do crafts after all 5 kids had moved out of the house.  She made arrangements with silk flowers, wreaths with flowers and other craft items.  She made beautiful bows for her flower arrangements. I know that I didn’t inherit that ability – I can’t even tie a straight bow on my sneakers.  Back to the pillow design, I used fusible web to attach the hearts.  Then I used the triple stitch on my hearts to “string them together”.  image I plan to look for a new pillow design next month to celebrate March.  Maybe it will be a “pillow of the month” for the rest of the year.  Will see how many pillow designs I make this year.  I still have a stack of UFO projects to get through.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

One thought on “Heart pillow with Bleeding Heart quilting design

  1. That pillow is so pretty. I like the clean, simple lines, the white background, and mix of fabrics for the hearts.

    Such a lovely homage to your creative mom.

Leave a Reply

