Four seasons wool applique with mom’s crewel embroidery pieces

image        I just finished the 4 seasons wool applique patterns designed by  Trish Stuart.  I first met Trish when I took a quilting class from her on an Alaskan quilting cruise in 2011.  I wanted to try some hand embroidery so I bought the 4 seasons wool patterns.  I used to do crewel embroidery about 35 years ago.     imageFor the first season (Spring) I hand appliqued all the pieces.  For the Summer and Fall patterns, I used hand applique stitching and decorative stitching using my sewing machine.  I finished the Winter pattern last week – all decorative machine stitching except for the white stars which I added using hand embroidery.    image I wanted to make a wall hanging using the 4 wool pieces and the 8 small floral crewel embroidery squares that my mom completed back in the 70’s.  Mom’s squares were originally mounted in small white plastic frames.  The finished wall hanging is a combination of my wool applique pieces and my mom’s pieces.   I am glad to have finished this UFO project.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting. Donna

4 thoughts on “Four seasons wool applique with mom’s crewel embroidery pieces

Leave a Reply

