Free motion practice pieces become 2 triangle zippered pouches

image        Last week I was practicing a new free motion quilting design using the book “365 Free Motion Quilting Designs” by Leah Day.  Usually I practice using muslin or light colored quilt sandwiches to practice designs.  I decided to start using different fabric for my quilt sandwiches that I can use in small projects.  I like quilting paisley designs so I thought I would try a pointy paisley designs.  I made 2 quilt sandwiches using different colored fabrics.  Then I made triangular zippered pouches with the 2 practice free motion squares.  The small bag was made with a 6″ x 12″ quilt sandwich and the larger bag is 8.5″ x 17″ quilt sandwich.  I like using the practice quilt sandwiches to make small projects.  I should have used a darker thread on the gray bag – the red thread does not show up as well on the gray print.   Keep having fun quilting and sewing.  Donna

Leave a Reply

