“Buoys” quilt – 2nd try

image               I started a quilt based on the photo taken on Cape Cod a few years ago.  I used this photo for a workshop that I took on thread painting.  For the workshop, we used canvas, batting, and backing behind the photo which was printed on fabric.  I did lots of thread painting in the class but did not like how the quilt was laying because of the heavy canvas.                imageSince I really liked my photo of the buoys, I decided to try the quilt again with a different technique. This time I used a Pellon interfacing to build the picture using fabric.  I enlarged the color photo and used tracing paper to make templates of the shapes in the black and white photo to cut out fabric for the buoys and fence.  I used the triple stitch on my sewing machine for the wire on the fencing.  So far I like the colors that I have used.  Stay tuned for the next step in the progress – thread sketching.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna     image

3 thoughts on ““Buoys” quilt – 2nd try

Leave a Reply

