Okashi courier bag (pattern by paradiso designs)

image        I made this courier bag as a store sample for the quilt shop where I work.  Pleather was a new product to try for this bag.  I used the pleather for the side design with the rings for the strap. I really like the side design of the pleather on the bag.  Following the pattern, I made a 2.5″ wide strap of pleather but the ring was only 2″ wide.  I didn’t like the look because the ring was too small for the strap so I made a fabric strap.  I used a teflon foot on my sewing machine to stitch the strap and a 110 jeans needle.  It was not hard to sew the pleather with the teflon foot but the pleather is a little stretchy.  According to the pattern directions, you are suppose to stitch the whole length of the strap including the side detail before cutting apart.  I found that it was hard to handle a length of 55″ when the pleather was stretchy and keep the pleather laying flat.   image The pattern designer has a blog with tutorials on how to sew on pleather which were helpful (http://paradisodesigns.blogspot.com/2011/01/method-monday-tutorial-on-pleathervinyl.html)

The finished size of the bag is 12″ tall x 4″wide x 10″ long.  There are 4 pockets inside the bag although I made a zippered pocket instead of the 2 pockets on one side.  I like to have a zippered pocket in a tote bag.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

