Christmas tree wall hanging

imageHere is my holiday quilt wall hanging that I made for the quilt shop that I work at.

This holiday tree is modern looking with green spirals used to form a tree shape.

I originally was going to use silver and gold fabric for the ornaments on the tree.  I cut out the ornaments and star and placed them on the tree but they didn’t “pop” on the white background.  So I put the prefused ornaments and star in my prefused fabric box to use on another day.  I then found some holiday fabric in my Christmas fabric box that looked good on the tree.  I used a yellow shimmer fabric (Northcott fabric), a Christmas stripe, and red fabric for the different sized ornaments on the tree.   imageAfter I fused the green spirals for the tree shape and the pot on the background fabric, I used free motion quilting to quilt the background.  Then I added the star and the ornaments and machine appliqued them to the quilt using the blanket stitch.

I used 2 shades of green shimmer fabric for the outer border and binding.   The finished quilt wall hanging is about 32″ x 44″.

Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

3 thoughts on “Christmas tree wall hanging

Leave a Reply

