Turtles wall hanging

image       I saw this turtle pattern last year at the Houston quilt market.  The pattern designer is from Victoria, British Columbia.  I bought her heron pattern at the Satin Moon quilt shop in Victoria, British Columbia – one of our stops on a quilting cruise to Alaska in 2011.  Okay, I have to admit that I have not started the heron pattern but have collected fabric for that quilt.  It is on my UFO list. Oops, the pattern has been on my UFO list for the past few years.   I quilted the ocean background for this turtle quilt before adding the applique pieces of the turtles and seaweed.  I used a decorative stitch (#1351 on my Bernina machine) to outline the seaweed.  I used a blanket stitch to attach the turtle pieces to the background.  The finished size of this wall hanging is about 29″ x 35″.        imageTurtles are very popular where we live along the coast.  There are turtle nests at the beaches during the summer.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

Leave a Reply

