April Calendar challenge block

image         For my April calendar block, I used shades of green selvages as the background for the azalea bushes and then added 3 azalea flowers. The theme for the month was “Azalea Festival.   I used the pink and coral fabrics to represent the azalea flower bushes in our yard which were blooming in April.  I looked at azalea flower images on the internet to get ideas for the my azalea flowers.  I thread painted accent colors on the flower petals.  I also made one of the petals on the each flower – 3-D using interfacing and fusible fabric on both sides of the interfacing. Then I stitched the petal in place.  Fun project.  One more calendar block to finish now. Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

One thought on “April Calendar challenge block

Leave a Reply

