January Calendar block

Another bird block – still in my “bird’ phase.  As a kid, I made plastic bird models and painted the birds.  I can’t remember if I made a bluejay model but I remember making a cardinal and a robin.      image I was inspired by a bluejay on a fence block in Backyard Birds pattern by Becky Goldsmith and Linda Jenkins.  I looked at pictures of bluejays on the internet and used these images to create my bluejay bird.  I used black thread and free motion quilting with the zigzag stitch to add accents to the head of the bird.  I used fabric that looked like wood to make the fence.  Only 3 blocks left and I will be done with my year of calendar blocks.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

One thought on “January Calendar block

Leave a Reply

