Accidental Landscape: Desert Sunset

image           I have been wanting to try an accidental landscape (book by Karen Eckmeier).  I watched a video about Karen Eckmeier and her quilts/techniques on The Quilt Show.  It was a fun technique to play with. I choose a desert scene because it reminds me of our family visits to the grandparents who lived in Arizona.  I always liked seeing the different kinds of cactus.  I used one of my hand-dyed fabrics for the evening sky for the desert scene.  Karen had an interesting technique for making the cactus.         image I added some fun fur yarn for some green plants – I used free motion quilting to attach the yarn.  I haven’t added the binding yet.  I also made a mini-quilt (postcard) size of a beach scene using the same technique.  The book is great – lots of pictures and ideas for making your own landscapes.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna     image

Leave a Reply

