February calendar bird block

image               I am continuing with my bird theme for the monthly calendar blocks.  For February I added heart shapes to the square instead of using flowers.  I cut out the hearts and then glued them in place before quilting the hearts.  I used free motion quilting to make the leaves and branches and to outline the hearts.  For the bird, I cut out a bird shape from a bird fabric.  It was just a black outline of the bird.  So I colored the bird with gray and tan crayons.  Then I ironed the bird to set the coloring.  For the background of the block, I made a wonky log cabin.  It was a fun block to make.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

3 thoughts on “February calendar bird block

Leave a Reply

