Scottie Calendar blocks

Well, I have finally caught up on my Scottie calendar blocks.   This was a challenge that our Modern Quilt Group started last July.   Here is Nov, Dec, Jan, and Feb blocks.

Nov, Dec, Jan, and Feb blocks.

Nov, Dec, Jan, and Feb blocks.

As with the other blocks, I design them in Photoshop and use pictures of our scottie, Ranger, to create the scottie dog.

November

November – Thanksgiving

blog - calendar block Dec

December – Winter Holiday

blog - calendar block Jan

January – a Bird in Winter

 

February - Hearts

February – Hearts

Everytime I work on one, it becomes my new favorite.   The last 3 (Dec, Jan, and Feb), I added some embellishments (buttons/ribbons) to give them a little more dimension.   I may have to go back to the other months and see if I can add a little something extra to each of them.   Now November looks like it needs a little something extra.   Any ideas?

Here is the list of Themes that we were asked to use for our calendar block challenge.

Jan. – A bird in winter
Feb. – Heart
March – National quilting month
April – Azalea Festival
May – Photograph
June – Beach/ ocean
July – America
August – Picnic
Sept. – Back to school
Oct. – Fall
Nov. – Thanksgiving
Dec. – Winter Holidays

Only three more to go and I can put the quilt together.    I haven’t come up with designs for the final three yet.   I may have to make a mini quilt in shamrock fabric and have the scottie sleeping on it.   Just a thought.

Happy Stitching,

Mary

5 thoughts on “Scottie Calendar blocks

  1. Mary, you are so talented. Ranger must be so proud of you.It is nice to be a star. Do you quilt each block as you finish it? Are you thinking of creating a pattern for the quilt?

    • Yes. I quilt each block as I finish it. After I have all 12 months, I’ll connect them with narrow sashing using a “guilt as you go” technique.
      I haven’t thought about creating a pattern but you are the third person to mention it to me so I may have to give it some serious though.

Leave a Reply

