Canned Pears Quilt by Fig Tree Quilts

image        I made a mini-quilt using only one square from the Canned Pears Quilt pattern.  I used some fabric from Fig Tree fabric.   Before I started free-motion quilting the quilt,  I stitched in the ditch around the larger shapes of the quilt.  I had watched a Quilting Arts show with Frieda Anderson on machine quilting.  She stitches in the ditch to secure all the blocks before she adds her free-motion quilting designs so the blocks lay flat.  I decided to try this technique since I wanted to add tight free-motion stitching in the center for the pear and loose stippling for the rest of the block.  I did some spirals and pebbling for the pear.   I outlined a leaf shape also with free motion quilting. It was a fun little block to make.  The finished size of my quilt was 13″ x 18″.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting. Donna

Leave a Reply

