Self portrait

image                Our art group had a challenge to make a self portrait.  Using a photograph, I transferred the photo to fabric using a photo transfer fabric and my printer. I used the fabric photo for the foundation of the portrait and added fabric using a glue stick. For the hair I glued a foundation of a purple print and then added lots of small strips of different purple fabric.  I added glitter glue to the eyeglasses.  I used beads to make the earrings and yarn for the scarf.  I also used crayons and colored pencils to add shading to the face.  I cut the face out and then glued the face to my background fabric.  I made a quilt sandwich and then I quilted the background and added stitching to the hair and face.  I mounted the portrait on a stretcher frame.  I think I like the purple hair the best – it is my favorite color.  It was a fun project to complete.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna

4 thoughts on “Self portrait

Leave a Reply

