Zen Quilting inspired by Zentangle

image        I have been practicing some new free motion designs.  I found this fun book called “Zen Quilting workshop” by Pat Ferguson.  There are lots of fun designs to doodle with free motion quilting. So I made a bunch of quilt sandwiches to start playing.  For the first sandwich, I stitched grids of different sizes so I could fill in the sections with different designs.  image

Then I used crayons to color the designs.  To heat set the crayons, I placed a paper towel on the design and used a hot dry iron.  For my second sandwich, I used a fish design on an Hawaiian shirt as my inspiration.  I drew the outline of the fish and then started doodling with free motion quilting. Lots of fun.  I can’t wait to doodle more designs.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting. Donna

image

Leave a Reply

